top of page


The Krum Education Foundation awarded grants to Krum ISD educators and students during end-of-year ceremonies held at the Krum Performing Arts Center.


On May 30, 2017, KEF representatives Linda Moore, Bret McDaniel, and Stacy McDaniel joined Krum ISD educators and staff for the end-of-year ceremony and announced the 2017 KEF Grant recipients.


Two technology grants were given to Hattie Dyer staff members.  Marian Martin was awarded a $1491 grant for her project titled, “Improving Fluency and Building Confident Readers.”  This grant will purchase four Chromebooks and classroom licensing for a reading program called Fluency Tudor.  This will allow Mrs. Martin to obtain reading samples of individual students and assign interactive reading strategy lessons promoting reading development.


The second Technology Grant was awarded to Hattie Dyer team members Marian Martin, Kim Reed, and Kara Woodward.  This grant team was given $4,972 to purchase Chromebooks to enhance Science and Social Studies.  The funds will fund 14 Chromebooks and a cart for storage and charging the devices.  The use of the Chromebooks in the classroom will allow teachers to utilize the tools and resources provided in the on-line curriculum for Science and Social Studies.


Mrs. McDaniel also awarded four Instructional Initiative grants at the KISD employee recognition ceremony.  Lori Palacios, Lisa Goff, Katherine McDonald, and Dawn Schertz of Hattie Dyer were presented with a check for $5,000 to fund their project, “Tinkering with the TEKS.”  This grant will transform the Hattie Dyer existing playground into a makerspace wonderland.  Students will experience an outdoor learning center using math, science, ELA, art, music, engineering, and problem solving interactions while exploring outside.


The EEC’s Denise Burns was awarded a grant for her project, “Family Literacy Night with New York Times Best Selling Author, Susan Stevens Crummel” for $1,260.  This grant will fund the EEC’s Family Literacy Night where students, staff, siblings, and parents come together for an interactive session with author, Susan Stevens Crummel.  Ms. Crummel will show parents that consistent interaction with their kids from an early age will lead to success in the classroom and a love of literacy.


The Krum Middle School Reading team was awarded $813 for their project, “Books for Literature Circle and High Interest Reading.”  Team leader, Melissa Ramirez, along with Sue Gramling, Anca Morcovescu, and Tiffany Brown will purchase class sets of books to use instead of students having to purchase the books themselves.


The final grant was awarded to Melinda Buchanan, Darryl Jenkins, Shanna Orsi, Tera Riney, and Alex Sibley of Krum High School.  This team’s goal is to expose students to reading material to help advance reading and writing levels.  The “Great Readers, Great Writers: Improving Rich Text Exposure” project was awarded $3,000 to purchase a variety of books for classrooms.

In addition to these grants, the Foundation awarded the first KEF Teacher Scholarship to Hattie Dyer educator, Marian Martin.  Mrs. Martin received a scholarship in the amount of $1498 to attend the ISTE Conference and Expo in June of 2017.

The Foundation also awarded an additional $5,115 in scholarships and grants directly to Krum ISD students as part of the Janeda Peploe Memorial Scholarship, CoServ Senior Scholarship, and Student Enrichment Grant programs.

bottom of page